CHE BELLO recovers…

January 31, 2010 at 1:21 pm (Uncategorized)

Last night was epic. I won’t recount the whole evening for the sake of those with angelic impressions of my behavior, but I will detail a number of things I can now check off on my lifetime to-do list.

48. Ride in the trunk of a car because, with 11 people in the portion typically used for seating, there’s just no way your ass is making it home otherwise.
91. Have a blacklight dorm room highlighter party and scribble obscene bathroom-stall-esque pictures all over some of your favorite friends.
183. Actually watch someone eat the agave worm from the bottom of the tequila bottle. Hallucinations may have followed, I’m not sure, but homeboy didn’t look like he was feeling so well.

In other news, I got cast yesterday in a production of Bernstein’s Candide. I’m beyond thrilled, as it’s been a long time since I did any kind of classical singing. So, even if it’s not your kind of music, you guys have to listen to this absolutely gorgeous aria, Candide’s Lament. The tenor is William Burden, arguably America’s best tenor at the moment. There’s so much emotional presence in his voice, made even easier by Bernstein’s soaring melody. It gives me goosebumps and is now firmly placed in my audition repertoire.

Workout Accountability Report (for yesterday):
Weights:  Inner and outer thighs, calves (2 sets of 15 calf raises at 130 pounds. Ouchies this morning.), and quads with the leg press.
30 minutes on the elliptical.
Plan for today is a 5-mile run, crunches, and then some evening yoga. Need to find some exercises to target my hamstrings. Thoughts?

7 Comments

  1. Brian said,

    You are too young to have a bucket list.

  2. goblinbox said,

    You wanted to ride in the trunk of a car?

    • David said,

      It actually was kind of fun. My best friend was in the front seat on the phone with me the whole time, and there was a glowing emergency exit button if I needed to get out at any point. It was an interesting sensation to feel the car going uphill and turning without any visual references. It’s funny how differently you appreciate your body and physical space when you’re in uncommon surroundings.

  3. hmwhat said,

    I absolutely LOVE candide. It’s one of my favorite shows, actually. I’m so excited that you’re in it – where exactly is the show going to be? I don’t live too far away and may be interested in seeing it.

    • David said,

      We perform in Risley Theatre on Cornell’s campus in Ithaca, NY. And we’d love to have you! You can check out all sorts of things about our company (including show dates, which I don’t remember off the top of my head) at http://www.melodramatics.com. 🙂

      • hmwhat said,

        Ooo! I might try to come see it!

  4. josh said,

    Congratz on gettin’ into the show! I would totez listen to that song right now, except that my housemate is on his laptop right nexxxt to me and playing some sort of neo-reggae online streaming radio station and I left my headphones upstairs [aka out of arm’s reach].

Leave a comment