CHE BELLO doesn’t understand.

July 29, 2009 at 12:46 pm (Uncategorized)

Isn’t love supposed to be about working through problems together?
Isn’t love supposed to mean sticking by someone when they have to go through something tough?
Isn’t love unconditional and forgiving and all those other things?

Or is love just convenient and self-serving? Is love just what you call it when you’re comfortable with someone and want to cling to them until they show you that they are human and flawed? Is love so malleable that one’s actions can make you lose sight of the person behind them, that soul that pulled you in and held you close and nurtured you?

I feel like I’ve known both kinds, and I know that I’ve been on both sides of the equation. I’ve been the one who looked past problems, and I’ve been the one who couldn’t handle flaws. And on one hand I’m okay with that, because it means I’ve learned and grown and am now at a point beyond the realization that you can’t expect the same kind of love you give to come back to you, because everyone has their own emotions and demons. But on the other hand I question whether love can ever be anything more than the latter.

I know that this is rambling, and that it probably doesn’t make any sense, but I have to try to sort out my feelings, even though I know it won’t happen in the near future. But at the moment I’m drifting without an anchor, and if tying myself to some sort of discourse on what’s going on inside will help, then I’m going to give it a shot.

2 Comments

  1. Radio Matthew said,

    “Isn’t love supposed to be about working through problems together?
    Isn’t love supposed to mean sticking by someone when they have to go through something tough?
    Isn’t love unconditional and forgiving and all those other things?”

    Those who say they love you should follow those. If they don’t, you know it’s not love.

  2. David said,

    On one level I know that, but on another it isn’t very comforting because we got so much right. And I’ve not been strong enough to work through problems in the past, so I can’t really take the high ground here. It’s all just…well, tough. But, it’s getting better with time. Thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

