CHE BELLO’s strange dream.

July 11, 2008 at 9:37 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

During a late afternoon nap today, I had a very strange dream. If any of you out there are Freudians, please feel free to offer some guidance as to what my seriously cracked-out subconscious could have been thinking.

My family owned some sort of convenience store/restaurant-type place, but they weren’t my real family. Nobody in my dream was recognizable as someone from my waking life. I was close friends with a blonde girl, and we were both 12 or 13(?) or so. Her family and my family went together to a pet store and they had tigers, very friendly tigers that would roll around lick you on the face and acted just like puppies. They also had two larger tigers, similarly behaved. Except one of them had the mannerisms of a human. After watching it, I became thoroughly convinced that this tiger was a man in a suit. Nobody would listen to me as I pointed out many reasons why this was so, including a striking difference in the male anatomy. As the rest of the group went to the other side of the store, the tiger-man ambled over to me and started snarling menacingly, like he knew I had figured out his game. I started to pet it and found a zipper, peeling it away to reveal human flesh. I began to yell to the rest of the people I was with that it really was a human, but again nobody would listen. And the tiger growled even louder at me, baring its teeth and pawing me to the ground. My family took home one of the tiger cubs, but the blonde girl liked the pattern on the tiger-man’s fur, so she picked it. As it climbed into the back of their van, it turned to glare at me one last time. It cocked its head to the side and, in a completely human gesture, waved goodbye.

The next morning I came downstairs to find my mother speaking to a policeman and crying over a cup of tea with honey. My friend and her entire family had been murdered and the policeman was explaining that a rash of killings had taken place in which escaped inmates disguised themselves as animals, went home with families with children, and savagely hacked them to pieces as they slept.

I don’t think I’m a very troubled person, but this dream has me very concerned. And also afraid of tiger-suit wearing escaped ex-cons.

Leave a Reply

