CHE BELLO is triumphant.

June 29, 2008 at 5:54 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

So that\'s what it feels like up here.

Today marks a milestone on my journey to becoming the gloriously in-shape person I am inside. A mighty force against which I have struggled for all 20 years of my life has finally been vanquished. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, the blue sky through the clouds, and all of those other clichéd things that people see when they finally get things right. What was this earth-shattering occurrence, you ask?

I spent a weekend at my grandparents’ house and did not make an absolute and utter pig of myself on anything and everything in sight, specifically PopTarts, frozen mozzarella sticks, large Tupperware containers full of homemade chili and chicken salad, Doritos, Vanilla Wafers, and Breyers Vanilla ice cream. (Listing everything helps me resist it. The more I have to say its name the more I think about what it actually is and wonder why I ever wanted to put that in my body in the first place.)

I’m in the best shape of my life and things are only getting better. While I’ve not been particularly large for quite some time now, I’ve still hung on to that last spare tire around my midsection, thick enough to completely hide any muscle development going on whatsoever. But those days are over. I used my government tax refund check to hire a personal trainer for a month. I see him twice a week and I’ve already learned so much that on days when I don’t see him I can still get a killer workout. There have been days when I’ve been so sore that I can barely walk, but when you’re floating on that much self-esteem you never even feel it.

So here’s to a new me, uninhibited enough to be the person I’ve always wanted to be. Taking charge of my life and doing things my way, accepting no less. Come along for the ride?

1 Comment

  1. David said,

    That’s great I’m happy for you! Working out has always been the bane of my existence, and i respect that you’re dedicated to it.

Leave a Reply

