CHE BELLO searches for fulfillment.

May 6, 2008 at 11:40 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

Feeling underappreciated really sucks. I’m going to leave this cryptic tidbit at that, so as not to dwell on it or seem whinier than I’m feeling.

Prolonged absences are frowned upon in the blogosphere, I’m well aware, but this one was necessary. Hell Week for my musical revue took over my life, throwing off every routine I even imagined I had. I didn’t make it to the gym, which meant I was constantly drained of energy, and on top of all of that I had to write two term papers and give a forty-five minute presentation of original research into the determinants of uninsurance among young adults. Fascinating stuff, I tell you.

Our show went well — two packed houses and the clearest solo in Seasons of Love I’ve ever managed to pull off, not to mention making all the ladies squeal with Uptown Girl and raking in the laughter with Sue Me from Guys and Dolls. Videos will be up early in the summer, I’m sure. I need to do a real show, need to do it so badly that I ache. Singing and dancing these little tidbits is fun, yes, but it feels hollow to me. Maybe the fall will bring a good musical to town. ((The Last 5 Years, anyone?))

A few more quick updates: finishing up applications for my semester abroad ::crosses fingers:: next spring. I’m going to shoot for the American University in Cairo, with the University of Canterbury in Christchurch, New Zealand as a back-up. We’ll see how it all works out. This summer, after much wrangling and answered hopes, I’ll be staying in Athens with Patrick and working on research for a professor here in the Policy Analysis and Management Department ((the same one who was so impressed by my work on uninsurance among young adults)). I think she has it in mind to try to convince me to go to grad school for a social science of some sort instead of law school, but I don’t know how successful she’ll be.

That’s about all for my personal business. But I’m alive and doing as well as can be expected, and regular posts should resume in the very near future. Hope all is well, cyber-friends!

Leave a Reply

