CHE BELLO takes the stage.

March 2, 2008 at 5:28 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

Sorry for being a little MIA lately, but I’ve been swamped with schoolwork and theatre troupe drama. It shouldn’t surprise me that we have so much in-fighting — I mean, c’mon, with that many gay guys and diva girls who want their attention, how could you not? — but sometimes I get overwhelmed because when we’re having fun and liking one another we’re really good at being an insular little family. I’m sure things will get better, though, as they tend to do.

In other news, I got cast in a show! Like, a real show, not another revue! I’ll be singing the role of Peter in a concert presentation of BARE: A Pop Opera here at Cornell in late April. I’m stepping into the shoes of the god-like Michael Arden, so a lot of rehearsal time will be necessary. I’m definitely up for the challenge, though, and excited about getting to infuse more character-driven acting into my singing, which I haven’t done in a long time.

So that’s my little personal update; do with it what you will. I’ll leave you for now with a clip of the song I’m so excited to sing in this show. It’s called “Role of a Lifetime.”

5 Comments

  1. Stephen said,

    Congratulations on the show!! BARE just played here in Chicago at Bailiwick Rep, but I missed it unfortunately. I have a feeling you’re going to be sensational in the show!

  2. David said,

    Thanks, Stephen! I’ll save you a front row seat. :-p

  3. Jake said,

    This is amazing – I love everything about Bare. You’re very lucky – hope you enjoy every minute of it and blog about it!!

  4. patrick said,

    you need to write more.

  5. David said,

    @Jake – Don’t worry, I’ll keep you guys posted about how the show’s going. And hopefully there’ll be some YouTube video at the end. Thanks for the positive energy!

    @patrick – you need to capitalize your letters, mister. but yes, i would like to very much. send my professors a note saying i have better things to do than their work?

Leave a Reply

